Posted in Meet the authors

Meet the Author: Mike Maihack

One of my first reviews was Mike Maihack’s Cleopatra in Space series. I love this series and even dress as Cleopatra. It is really hard waiting a year for each new book, but it is worth the wait. Learn a little more about Mike below…

9aebe09e-6cfa-4945-95c7-74ee722ac5ff

Author name: Mike Maihack

Author website/social media:mikemaihack.com, @mikemaihack

Tell me a little about yourself: I’m a cartoonist, dad, and graphic novelist who has a fondness for ice cream and cats, though not necessarily combined.

When you were my age, did you like to read? All the time.
What was your favorite story? I seem to recall being really into Roald Dahl and the Bunnicula books around your age. I don’t know if Bunnicula is still around. It was about a vampire rabbit who sucked the juice out of vegetables. Now I’m trying to remember how the author managed to have so many books based on that concept…
I also read a lot of comic strip collections at the time, like Garfield, Calvin & Hobbes, and Far Side.
How do you get your ideas? From reading a lot of books and comics, watching a lot of tv and movies, and going on adventures outside.

Is it hard to write/illustrate a book? Yes, but worth it.
Do you have a favorite among the books you have written/illustrated? “The one I’m currently working on” will hopefully always be my answer. In this case it’s true! Really happy with the fourth Cleopatra in Space book that’ll be out next spring. It’s called The Golden Lion.
What author do you really like right now? JK Rowling.

What advice do you have for a kid who wants to be an author? Always share your stories, even you don’t think they are any good.
PS. This is what he really looks like…
maihack
5 thoughts on “Meet the Author: Mike Maihack

  1. Wow. “Always share your stories, even you don’t think they are any good.” I’m going to have to remember that one!
    It also makes me wonder, Bridget. Do you write any stories yourself?

    Like

Leave a Reply

