Posted in Meet the authors

Meet the author: Gary Urey

Bridget note: I am still on vacation in Maine. Here is a bonus interview with a Maine author!
urey
Author website/social media: www.garyureybooks.com
Tell me a little about yourself:
I grew up in western PA and moved to NYC for college. I graduated from the American Academy of Dramatic Arts and was an actor before turning to write children’s books. I now live in Maine with my wife, two teenage daughters, and two dogs
When you were my age, did you like to read? When I was in third and fourth grade, I liked to read books about nature, and I loved books by Shel Silverstein, Roald Dahl, Doctor Seuss, and Beverly Cleary.
What was your favorite story?
 Where the Wild Things Are by Maurice Sendek
How do you get your ideas?
Hmmm…that’s a tough question, but mostly my ideas just come from day dreaming.
Is it hard to write/illustrate a book?
Yes, it is hard to write a book. Mostly because no one is forcing you to do it and you need a lot of self-discipline.
Do you have a favorite among the books you have written/illustrated?
Super Schnoz and the Gates of Smell because it was my first published book. (Bridget note: I am still reading this one so a review will come later)
gatesofsmell
What author do you really like right now?
I love many authors, but right now my favorite is Jerry Spinelli and Louis Sachar.
What advice do you have for a kid who wants to be an author?
Write! And keep a diary. The only way you can ever get better at writing is by writing and reading good books.
2 thoughts on “Meet the author: Gary Urey

Leave a Reply

