Posted in Meet the authors

Meet the author: Shelly Becker

11695324_1643589035877267_4424121377570935650_n

Author website/social media: https://m.facebook.com/shellybeckerbooks/

Tell me a little about yourself:
I’m a mom of four super kids and very recently became a grandmother to a delicious baby girl. I can’t wait until she’s old enough to enjoy picture books!

When you were my age, did you like to read?
Yes, I’ve always loved to read. Ever since I learned how.

What was your favorite story?
It was probably a toss-up between Dr Seuss’s The Cat in the Hat and a book called Arty the Smarty, by Faith McNulty.

How do you get your ideas?
My ideas come from all kinds of places. My kids, my life experiences, people I’ve met. I get ideas everywhere basically.

Is it hard to write/illustrate a book?
It’s not hard to write a book. But it IS hard to write a GOOD book–a book that a publisher wants to publish. It’s hard, but not impossible.

Do you have a favorite among the books you have written/illustrated?
EVEN SUPERHEROES HAVE BAD DAYS is my favorite. I’ve put an enormous amount of effort into it over many years, have waited a long time to see it published, and am thrilled that it’s finally here!

What author do you really like right now?
That’s a tough question. There are so many fabulous authors out there and I’m lucky to be friends with many of them.

What advice do you have for a kid who wants to be an author?
My advice is to read a lot and write a lot. Appreciate people who are supportive of your goals–like your amazing mom! Writing book reviews is a great idea, too. It gets you thinking about books in a different, deeper way, which will probably shape you into a better writer. Keep up the great work, Superhero Bridget!

Leave a Reply

