Posted in Author Meet Up, Places I visit

I go to Washington DC

I spent the day in Washington DC. I started it like all kids do with Absolutely Mindy on Kids Place Live. Well, maybe not all kids are in the studio and joining her on the radio. She is just as silly in person!

Guy Raz was there too. I helped flush Guy down the portal potty. It is smaller than I expected. I had to climb on him to push him in. I almost fell in. I have already been flushed before. I didn’t need to go to Guy’s meeting.

Mindy and Guy looked just like I expected. Kenny Curtis snuck in to say hi. He looked different than I expected. I didn’t get to say hi to Lorenzo Llama or Dirk the fourth and forgotten chipmunk. I also met Tori, Mindy’s producer. She was cool!

Annoying Little Brother also got to be on air and talked about Tim Kubart of course. They even tried calling Tim but got his voicemail. Phew!

After our radio time, we went exploring. I saw the Washington Monument, the Lincoln Memorial, the Capitol Building and the White House.

For lunch, we went to Kramerbooks. You can get books and food!

(PS, look who is in the bottom corner! Penguin!)

The last place we visited was the Zoo. I saw Pandas – both Giant and Red Tailed. I also saw elephants, seals, piranhas and bison. They also had statues made from trash in the zoo. They are to show people to stop throwing their trash anywhere and especially in the water.

I do have book recommendations for you. If you are going to DC, you could read Miroslav Sasek’s This is Washington DC. It is a bit old but you learn about a lot of the monuments.

I also suggest Kelly DiPucchio’s Grace for President. It is about a girl who wants to be president when she grows up.

2 thoughts on “I go to Washington DC

Leave a Reply

