Posted in Ask the Librarian

Ask the Librarian: Trista Reno

A few days ago, I asked for helping finding librarians to interview. The response was great. Mom says she emailed 30 librarians in one day and we keep getting interest. Keep it coming – we want to feature you all.  We try to feature one librarian a week but some times we might do more!

And now, to this week’s interview…..

FullSizeRender

Name of Library (and website if it has one): Commerce Township Community Library
http://www.commercelibrary.info/

What kind of librarian are you?
Youth Librarian

How long have you been a librarian?
I have been a librarian for 5 ½ years.

What lead you to wanting to be a librarian?
I’ve always loved books and I knew that I would find working in an office environment boring. When I was in college my advisor mentioned a career as a librarian and I was hooked! There are many types of librarians but being a youth services librarian really appealed to me. I love getting to work with young people and babies.

How do you pick books for your library?
I read professional review journals, listen to what my patrons want, speak to other librarians, and make sure that I keep my collections diverse.

Do you have a favorite author?
I have a lot of favorite authors from many different genres. I would have to say that R. L. Stine really solidified my love of reading at an early age and that he’s still relevant today.

How do you decide what book to recommend to a specific kid?
A lot of different factors go into a reference interview. I like to find out what they’ve read, what they did or didn’t like, and what interests they have. If someone comes in and has no clue as to what s/he would enjoy then I’ll usually show them a wide variety of books and suggest they check them all out. The great thing about the library is that everything’s free, so if the patron doesn’t like a book it doesn’t cost them anything!

One thought on “Ask the Librarian: Trista Reno

  1. We love Trista!!! Best librarian ever. We always look forward to her storytimes and sensory play dates. Commerce library is lucky to have her. She keeps us coming back. 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

