Posted in Meet the authors

Meet the author: Marcie Colleen

Marcie with books correct

Author website/social media: http://www.thisismarciecolleen.com Twitter: @MarcieColleen1

Tell me a little about yourself:
As a kid, I loved anything creative. I danced, sang, acted, and loved decorating my school books with homemade paperbag covers.I guess you can say I dabbled in anything and everything artsy. Then, as an adult I continued to dabble. I have had lots of different jobs in my life. I have been a teacher, an actress, and a nanny. But I have finally found the BEST job ever–writing children’s books. Now I can be creative AND I don’t even have to get out of my pajamas to do so!

When you were my age, did you like to read? Absolutely! I loved going to the library and would often read the books in the car on the way home.

What was your favorite story?
I have always been a big Curious George fan. Years ago, before I started writing for children, my brother gave me The Complete Adventures of Curious George for Christmas. I’ve read those classics over and over again in my adult life. My favorite scene is at the end of Curious George Takes a Job when George and all of his friends can be seen in a theater watching a movie about George. As a kid I would look through the audience and try to find everyone from the story. Often, like at my wedding, when people that I have met throughout my life gather to celebrate with me, I think back to that scene as if I am living my own “Curious George Theater” scene.

How do you get your ideas?
Ideas are everywhere. Sometimes I overhear something and it sparks an idea. Other times I remember something from my own childhood or I read a story on the Internet. I keep notebooks and post-it notes full of ideas.

Is it hard to write/illustrate a book?
Well, if it was easy, everyone would do it, right? Truth is, it is difficult, but if you want something badly enough, you work hard at it and each time you will get better and better. I’m still getting better with each story I write. The key is to make sure what you are doing makes you happy. And writing stories and trying to make them the best they can be makes me very, very happy. Some may even say SUPER happy.

Do you have a favorite among the books you have written/illustrated?
That’s a really tough question. Honestly, I love them all. Although right now I have caught Super Happy Party Bears fever, seeing as they are dancing onto bookshelves really soon. SQUEE!

What author do you really like right now?
Lately I am loving Bob Shea books. They are funny and full of heart and he makes it look easy. And let me tell you…they are NOT easy. The second Ballet Cat book, DANCE, DANCE, UNDERPANTS is just brilliant! Yes, a book with underpants in the title is brilliant. Oh, and selfish plug…he’s illustrating my debut picture book, LOVE, TRIANGLE (Balzer + Bray/ HarperCollins) which will be out in Fall 2017.

What advice do you have for a kid who wants to be an author?
Believe that you can be. And if anyone tells you you can’t, ignore them. Guard your dream. Because dreams are precious and they can come true. You can be anything you put your mind to. Trust me!

Leave a Reply

