Posted in Meet the authors

Meet the author: Kristen Grace

IMG_0983.JPG
I write for Literati Press in Oklahoma. Here is the website: http://www.storenvy.com/stores/218620-literati-press-comics-novels
How many books have you written? The Stepmother Who Dreamed of Feathers is my first book. In two weeks, I am releasing a book called Wings: Feminist Fairy Tales. It will be available at the website above. Some of the stories in it are for kids, and some are for teens and adults. I am working on a novel.
fullsizerender-72
How do you come up with your book ideas? I like to write stories about my daughter, Harper, who is ten years old. She is very brave and kind, and I think she changes the world around her for the better everywhere she goes. Harper is my hero.
When you were my age, did you like to read? Who was your favorite author? Reading books has always been my favorite thing in the whole world. Libraries and book stores are my favorite places! The first thing I loved to read were all the poems by Shel Silverstein. Then all of the Anne and Emily books by L.M. Montgomery.
Do you have an author for young people you like now? One of my favorite picture books is called Wangari’s Trees of Peace: A True Story from Africa by Jeanette Winter. It’s the story of how a woman named Wangari helped and inspired Kenyan women to replant 30 million trees in Kenya. The illustrations are beautiful. My daughter and I read this one over and over together.
At the moment, my daughter is reading a book I also loved as a girl- a novel called In the Year of the Boar and Jackie Robinson by Bette Bao Lord. It tells the story of a young girl named Shirley Temple Wong who moves to America from China, and how she learns to make friends and enjoy new customs here, while still remembering her old traditions. She finds a new love for the sport of baseball. It is very funny.
Any suggestions for kids who want to be an author? For kids who want to be authors: Yes! Do it! Read all you can, and write all you can. And for those who like to draw, practice creating stories using your art. Explore comics and graphic novels and practice making your own. Be proud of your efforts- share them with a friend, a brother or sister, or with a parent who can encourage you.
One thought on “Meet the author: Kristen Grace

Leave a Reply

