Posted in Ask the Librarian

Ask the librarian: Denise Lyles

IMG_20160729_133337892

My name is Denise Lyles, and I am currently a Children’s Librarian at the
Larchmont Public Library, in Larchmont, NY. Larchmont is in Westchester County which is north of New York City).  The Larchmont library is part of the Westchester Library System, which consist of 38 libraries.
http://www.larchmontlibrary.org

How long have you been a librarian? I have been a librarian since 2008, and I love it. I started out as a Librarian Trainee, while attending Library school. I worked at the New York Public Library. I stayed with them for 5 years, an excellent institution. Librarianship is my second career before Library school I worked for Barnes and Noble Booksellers in the NY buying office for 13 years.

How did you decide to be a librarian? My doctor suggested library school to me. He knew someone who was a librarian and thought it was a good job for me. I applied to library school and was accepted and attended Queens College Library School in Queens NY.

How do you choose the books for your library? I choose books based on reviews in library magazines and newspapers and authors I am familiar with. I love picture books and they are one of the more popular books so I am purchasing them often.

What was is your favorite book? Who is your favorite author? My favorite book as a child, I have two, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory and Charlotte’s Web. Both of which are movies but the books were better.
My favorite author is Langston Hughes, who is actually more famous for his poetry.

How do you pick a book for a specific kid? I decide what books to recommend to kids based on the last book they have read, and I usually ask them what they are interested in. Sometimes the kids think their interests are strange and or weird but most times there are books about what it is. This usually makes them very happy.

What I like most about my job is story time, I love to act silly and do different voices when I read and make the kids laugh. It brightens my day. Sometimes I get high fives an occasional hug.

Leave a Reply

