Posted in Ask the Librarian

Ask the librarian: Dana Guisti

Dana
Name of Library: Fishtown Community Library (a branch library in the Free Library of Philadelphia system)  www.freelibrary.org
What kind of librarian are you?I am a Children’s Librarian, which means I get to share and encourage a love of reading with children!

How long have you been a librarian?
I have been a librarian for two years now. I have worked at the Fishtown Library for a year and a half.

What lead you to wanting to be a librarian?
I had been interested in becoming a teacher, but found my true passion was focused on literacy. I love that I can share great stories with kids during storytime, encourage their creativity through crafting, and have fun during themed programs, such as celebrating Star Wars Day! There is nothing better than hearing a parent say their child loves visiting the library and picking out new books to read together.

How do you pick books for your library?
I don’t order all of the books we receive; however, I do get to choose a fair amount. I get ideas by listening to what parents and children ask for, or when I see books that are similar to titles that are checked out often. Sometimes I fall in love with a particular book and decide to add it to our collection for everyone to enjoy!

Do you have a favorite author?
When it comes to children’s literature, I am always quick to recommend anything by Mo Willems, Greg Pizzoli, or Beverly Cleary. Personally, I love J.K. Rowling and Liane Moriarty.

How do you decide what book to recommend to a specific kid?
I usually ask what sort of subject they’re interested in reading about, or what sort of tone–funny, adventurous, etc. I then ask what sort of books they already enjoy; that is usually a helpful guide to finding a new book for them to enjoy!

Leave a Reply

