Posted in Author Meet Up, Meet the authors

Meet the Author: Kelly DiPucchio

kelly-bridget
Kelly & me!
Author website/social media: http://www.kellydipucchio.com Twitter: @kellydipucchio

Tell me a little about yourself: I am the author of over 20 picture books for kids. I love to read, travel, spend time with family, go to the movies, and talk to my dogs.

When you were my age, did you like to read? From as far back as I can remember, I loved reading and books. My first memory of a book was one my mom used to read to me called The Surprise Doll. When I was your age I liked reading Little House on the Prairie books by Laura Ingalls Wilder.

What was your favorite story? My favorite book when I was a kid is still one of my favorites today – Horton Hears A Who by Dr. Seuss

How do you get your ideas? I get my ideas from all sorts of people and places. I got the idea to write Gaston because I saw a super cute French Bulldog puppy on Youtube!

11351154_1009691302375243_8244201968111754943_n

Is it hard to write a book? It’s not hard to write a book when I’m really excited about my idea but there are some days when I get stuck. When that happens, I usually take a break and read.

Do you have a favorite among the books you have written/illustrated? I get asked this question a lot and I honestly don’t have a favorite. They’re all special to me for different reasons.

What author do you really like right now? Just one?! That’s tough! I’m really enjoying Ryan Higgin’s Mother Bruce picture books right now. I’m also totally in love with Abby Hanlon’s Dory Fantasmagory books. See? That’s two. Sorry!

What advice do you have for a kid who wants to be an author? Read! And then read some more. In order to be a good writer, you have to be a good reader. Also, start drinking coffee.

cupcake-cover

Leave a Reply

