Posted in Ask the Librarian

Ask a librarian: Adryana (Ana) Billotti

1
Cool hair!

Name of Library: The Alice Virginia and David W. Fletcher Branch of the Washington County Free Library. http://www.washcolibrary.org/

What kind of librarian are you? I’m a Children’s Librarian at our Central Library. I work with upper elementary and middle school aged children. I do STEM, Coding, and Tech programs. I, also, am in charge of planning our library system’s Summer Reading Club.

How long have you been a librarian? I have been a Children’s Librarian for over a year now, but I have been working in libraries for six years.

What lead you to wanting to be a librarian? My elementary school librarian! One day in fourth grade, she had my class break into groups to do a scavenger hunt through the library. For whatever reason, I was able to find everything very quickly and easily. One of my classmates asked me how I knew where everything was. I told him I didn’t know, the library just made sense to me. From fourth grade to now, I have never dreamed about being anything else.

How do you pick books for your library? That’s actually not too much a part of my job; my boss handles most of that process! However, I know he reads a lot of book review magazines and he is always open to taking suggestions from our patrons and other librarians. If you ever really want a book, just ask your librarian to try their hardest to get it for you!

Do you have a favorite author? I love Kate DiCamillo (mostly because she wrote a book about a squirrel, and I am more than slightly obsessed with squirrels). I, also, think Gordan Korman is hysterical.

How do you decide what book to recommend to a specific kid? I really let the child tell me what they want. I do have some go to authors, but I just ask the child a few questions, and then pull several books for them to look through. I always let the child make the final choice!

One thought on “Ask a librarian: Adryana (Ana) Billotti

Leave a Reply

