Posted in Ask the Librarian

Ask the librarian: Leslie Minor

My name is Leslie Minor and I am a children’s librarian at Everett Public Library in Everett, Washington.  The library website is www.epls.org
I graduated from the library school at the University of Washington in 1982!  I wanted to be a librarian because I love books and people and like to get them together.  My first job was at the University of Washington’s Friday Harbor Labs (Oceanography) on San Juan Island.  It was great fun!  Our books came by seaplane from Seattle!
I purchase the picture books, easy readers, board books and children’s music for my library.  We order through baker and Taylor and I read reviews and spend about 44,000 dollars per year on these books.  About half of the money goes to replacing all of the wonderful library ‘basics’ (because when children’s books are checked out, they are read about a dozen times while adult books are typically read only once, so condition is usually the issue for ‘weeding’ a children’s book) and the other half goes to new books.
It’s hard to pick a favorite author, but I love Julia Donaldson and Rosemary Wells, and Jane Cabrera, oh and also Jan Thomas and Mo Willems!
I usually ask a kid what s/he has enjoyed reading lately and go from there.  We have bookmarks with selected books for each grade, and it’s always fun to check out the new book shelf.  There’s also the five finger rule.  You count the words you don’t know on a page and if you don’t know one, that book is too easy.  If you don’t know two or three, that book is just right.  If you don’t know four or five, that book may be too much of a challenge for you.
I don’t have a picture of myself but have included one of my dog, Pearl, and one of my two little grand daughters, Elena and Alice
2 thoughts on “Ask the librarian: Leslie Minor

Leave a Reply

