Posted in Ask the Librarian

Ask the Librarian: Stephanie Loiselle

image1
Name of Library (and website if it has one): 
Wilton Public and Gregg Free Library in Wilton, NH  www.wiltonlibrarynh.org

What kind of librarian are you? Youth services librarian for ages 0-18. I work full time, and have one 10 hour a week assistant

How long have you been a librarian? I’ve worked in libraries for about 12 years, but have been a professional librarian for 3.

What lead you to wanting to be a librarian? I love books, obviously. But more important to me is the ability to educate, support, and provide kids with a safe space to grow and explore. Its also is also a bit of a family thing, as my mom and both of my sisters are librarians as well!

How do you pick books for your library? A variety of ways. I look at what is being checked out by kids, and live getting recommendations. I also look at what school projects there are. Other than that, professional journals like School Library Journal and Horn Book are great resources, as well as the award nominees for state and local awards. I also look for things that are different and unique in some way and of really good quality.

Do you have a favorite author? Not consistently, it changes depending on my mood and season, etc. I really love Louise Erdrich, Rainbow Rowell, and Jandy Nelson at the moment.

How do you decide what book to recommend to a specific kid?  By asking a lot of questions! About things they are interested in, other books they liked and why, and what things they don’t like. It’s a pretty small town, so for a lot of kids I’m pretty familiar with what they like to read.

Leave a Reply

