Posted in Ask the Librarian

Ask the librarian: Erin Durrett


Name of Library Flint Public Library, www.fpl.info

What kind of librarian are you? I am a Digital Learning Librarian. That’s a fancy way of saying that I teach technology skills to library patrons, like how to set up a Facebook account, check out an e-book, use Microsoft Office, etc. People have different levels of skills with technology and computers, and a big part of my job is teaching them so that they feel more independent and confident using technology. I also have the privilege of holding Minecraft programs for kids and using our 3D printer for library programs.

How long have you been a librarian? I have been a Librarian for about 5 years, but have been working in libraries for about 10 years.

What lead you to wanting to be a librarian? Working in a library was my very first job in high school. I was a Page, or Shelver, and checked in and shelved library materials. That is the best way to learn the library’s collection. When I was finishing my Bachelor’s degree in Anthropology, my professor asked that we prepare an interview of someone who is doing a job or preparing for a job that we were interested in. I Interviewed my friend Anne, who at the time was getting her Masters Degree in Library Science. After graduation, I started working in another library, and the rest is history!

How do you pick books for your library? I feel very lucky to purchase graphic novels. To me, it’s one of the most fun collections to purchase. I choose some bestselling titles. Barnes & Noble has a really fantastic graphic novel blog and they post the best releases for each month. I also look at reviews in School Library Journal and Booklist, and get recommendations from library staff and patrons.

Do you have a favorite author? I have several. What comes to mind first is the YA Author, Maggie Steifvater. She has the most beautiful writing style and her magical realism seems so plausible, you don’t consider what she does as fantasy. She is a master of blending real life with the supernatural. For graphic novels, I’m a big fan of Raina Telgemeier, especially her latest book, Ghosts.

How do you decide what book to recommend to a specific kid? I ask what books they have already read that they liked. I also ask about favorite topics or genres and if they would like to read more of those types of books. It’s good to have eclectic reading taste as a librarian, so you can recommend something from every genre. I try to read over 200 books and graphic novels a year (and keep track on Goodreads), to keep up with what’s new and catch up on titles I’ve missed.

One thought on “Ask the librarian: Erin Durrett

  1. It is interesting that Erin found a job she loves that was unlike what she studied in college. I remember when we read “comics in school. We hid them in other books. It really did not work. We almost always got caught. Now there are comics called graphic novels like “Captain Underpants” and others. I taught special education classes and these students would read these here they would not read regular prose. I began to realize that reading these did help students become interested in reading and some graduated to other interesting books with fewer pictures. I think your blog is really interesting..

    Like

Leave a Reply

