Posted in Comics, General

Making Stuff with Bob Bukoski


Bob Bukoski

 

http://www.MST3KBots.com

stores.ebay.com/mst3kbots

 how did you get into making things?

I’ve been making and crafting things since I was very young. I’ve always enjoyed making something out of nothing. When the first Star Wars movie came out I built a life size R2-D2 out of a barrel, a hair dryer dome and and some wood. I also sculpted a Darth Vader mask out of plaster to wear as a costume.

why did you create MST3K replicas?

I started making the MST3K robots shortly after I became a fan of the show when it first aired back in the 1990’s. It was obvious that the robots were made out of all kinds of junk parts so I started searching for all the correct pieces to make each robot. Eventually I got most of the parts and built my own versions of Crow and Tom Servo.

– what is your favorite thing about MST3K?

I’ve always loved the jokes used on MST3K. It fits in with my sense of humor. Also they do so many jokes with every episode that it’s easy to find some you like.

– do you have a favorite episode?

My favorite episode is probably episode #402 – The Giant Gila Monster. I’ve always liked monster movies

– do you have advice for kids who like to make things?

The best advice I can give young people is what ever you are passionate about just do it. Don’t let anyone tell you that you can’t do it or discourage you from trying. The hockey player Wayne Gretzky once said “You miss 100% of the shots you don’t take”. If you really want to do something you have to take your shot.

Leave a Reply

