Posted in Meet the authors

Meet the author: Kara LaReau

IMG_0258-1

Kara LaReau was born and raised in Connecticut. She received her Masters in Fine Arts in Writing, Literature, and Publishing from Emerson College in Boston, Massachusetts and later worked as an editor at Candlewick Press and at Scholastic Press. Among other celebrated titles, she edited Kate DiCamillo’s Because of Winn-Dixie, The Tale of Despereaux, The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane, and the Mercy Watson series. She is the author of picture books such as UGLY FISH and OTTO: The Boy Who Loved Cars, illustrated by Scott Magoon, and NO SLURPING, NO BURPING! A Tale of Table Manners, illustrated by Lorelay Bové; a chapter book series called The Infamous Ratsos, illustrated by Matt Myers; and a middle-grade trilogy called The Unintentional Adventures of the Bland Sisters, illustrated by Jen Hill.  Kara lives in Providence, Rhode Island with her husband and son and their cat.

One half-eaten sandwich. Two sisters. A crew of lady pirates. Hold on to your booty.-2

When you were my age, did you like to read? I LOVED to read. I especially liked reading at night, when I was supposed to be sleeping. (I still do.)

What was your favorite story? I didn’t have a favorite. But here are just a few authors I liked: Roald Dahl, Shel Silverstein, Beverly Cleary, Norma Fox Mazer, and the Brothers Grimm and Hans Christian Andersen.

How do you get your ideas? I try to be observant, to keep my eyes and ears open, as my ideas come from funny or interesting things I notice in my everyday life.

Is it hard to write a book? VERY hard, but in a fun way, like a puzzle.

What author do you really like right now? Too many to count! There are so many terrific books out there right now. Currently I am reading Orphan Island by Laurel Snyder, and it is very good.

What advice do you have for a kid who wants to be an author? Read a lot, write a lot, and keep those eyes and ears open for new ideas!