Toby

By Hazel Mitchell

Book Trailer : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9TgIF-6Yo1o

This book will be released on Tuesday, September 13th.

Toby is about a boy moving to a new home. He wants a dog, so he adopts one from the shelter. At first, Toby has a hard time adjusting to his new home. The boy tries to play with him but he isn’t interested. The boy is sad. But one day, Toby brings the boy his shoe.  Toby and the boy start doing things together, like the boy hoped.

9780763680930.int.1

I liked this book.  I will be moving soon.  It  tells me I have to be patient with change.  My brother and I tried to get our parents to let us get a kitten. Dad said not until after we are moved and settled.  It would be sad to get a new pet and they get stressed with the move.  I will wait.

The book doesn’t mention the boy’s mom.  I thought maybe she was like my mom and travels for work.  Some other kids may have a different idea of what happen to the mom.

I liked the pictures because they were nice.  Toby was a cute dog.  The pictures tell their  own story.

9780763680930.int.2

I recommend this book to kids going through change. If they work through the change, it will all work out.

(Bridget special note: Toby is a real dog. He ran away for 8 days and then came home. That sounds like it would be hard on everyone.  I am glad he came home.)

 

TOBY. Copyright © 2016 by Hazel Mitchell. Reproduced by permission of the publisher, Candlewick Press, Somerville, MA.


Posted

in

by

Tags:

Comments

One response to “Toby”

  1. Hazel Mitchell Avatar

    Thanks so much for blogging about Toby, Bridget. We very much enjoyed reading your comments. Hazel and Toby xx

    Like

Leave a Reply